Happy Autiversary!!!

Today marks 9 years since I received my autism diagnosis! I can’t believe it’s been so long already. It seems like just yesterday when I was sitting in my psychologists office and he told me that I fit the criteria of Autism Spectrum Disorder!

This moment was extremely meaningful to me and will always remain etched in my thoughts. Finally, a word which so well described my experiences, my struggles, my talents…well, ME! I finally had it on paper: I was autistic.

This sparked my journey of self-discovery and advocacy. I wanted to reach out to others to tell my story. To show them what autistics bring to the table. To give an example of just one out of the many people who fly under the radar and receive their diagnosis later in the game. I was two weeks shy of my 31st birthday that day in the psychologists office, after all.

It was only appropriate that my virtual young adult autism support group meeting happened to fall on this evening! It was my second meeting with this new-to-me group, and so far, I’m really enjoying it. The other members are so welcoming and genuine. I’m already making new friends!

When I look back, I can say my journey thus far has been a success: I have participated in a handful of speaking engagements over the years and have made many a connection in the autistic community. I’m even in a book! I belong to several boards of autism organizations. I feel a sense of fulfillment. I’m still not finished, though! I’m looking forward to what the future holds for me as an autistic advocate.

Leave a comment